PART 3: PUTTING YOURSELF IN THE PICTURE

Project 2 Masquerades

Exercise

Recreate a childhood memory in a photograph. Think carefully about the memory you choose and how you’ll recreate it. You’re free to approach this task in any way you wish.

A strong childhood memory

When I was young I shared many hours talking to my Father whilst he was working underneath the car fixing it. So I chose to recreate the roles a generation on; this time I’m under the car whilst my son is trying to have a conversation with me. I have recreated the scenario literally, excepting that the car and our clothing are modern rather than from the 70s.

The image would definitely need some accompanying text were it not for my explanation above, as it would be meaningless to viewers.

The photograph triggers my memory and it amuses me to have my son in my former role, he does not have my patience and I doubt that I would have the patience to talk to him whilst simultaneously working on the car. It triggers my memory rather than recreates it as in my childhood, I was sat on a concrete drive, my Father was always all but his feet under the middle of the car, but my low profile car wouldn’t allow me to do this.

Hopefully it communicates to the viewer through our body language a close relationship between two people, some degree of empathy and patience, which is what my memory is  all about.

IMG_5957 ps 1500

Leave a Reply

