ASSIGNMENT 3: PUTTING YOURSELF IN THE PICTURE

Niki South Student number: 514516

This Tutor feedback was firstly by google hangout and then followed with a brief Tutor report.

TUTOR REPORTTutor Report Form-Niki South 514516 Ass 3

GOOGLE HANGOUT NOTES: Tutor verbal google hangout feedback Ass 3

MY REFLECTIONS ON FORMATIVE FEEDBACK

“THE HIDDEN ME”

STRENGTHS HIGHLIGHTED

  • The “bold” concept.
  • My communication, I had been conscious of my Tutor’s previous advice to be more ambiguous and to pare down what was within a frame.
  • The images chosen for the series.
  • Use of the square format for the images, an idea I had taken from my tutors previous feedback.
  • The research and commitment to the subject

AREAS FOR DEVELOPMENT

These were technical as I had expected: in my self-reflection I had said that I was pleased with my images as concepts but knew that they could be technically improved:

  • Lighting: experiment with diffusers, bouncing the light, reflectors and sources such as soft boxes.
  • Be aware of shadows and reflections and how to overcome them
  • Consider the colour balance, the peacemaker has a slightly yellow hue

MY LEARNING POINTS

  • Consider the type of lighting that is best for the subject, whether it should be direct or soft for instance.
  • Be alert to colour balance
  • Continue to make use of a variety of formats for effect
  • Continue to compose with some ambiguity
  • Continue the use of sketches pre shooting

REWORKING THE ASSIGNMENT

  • Reshoot “The Peacemaker” in a purer, softer light. I recreated the same composition as in my draft shoot but experimented with the lighting. Before shooting I set up the shot in various locations with daylight from different positions. Having found the best location for light and minimal reflection I then shot the first 4 images without flash, the next 5 with a speed lite and then decided to shoot with only natural light.
  • Reprocess “The organiser” to improve the colour balance

Link to learning log: https://nkssite2.wordpress.com/category/a3-learning-log/

These mind maps summarise the narrative of my brainstorming, preparations and post shooting thoughts contained in the learning log.

 Brainstorm:

Putting yourself in brainstorm 1500

 Shooting:

Putting yourself in shooting 1500

 Editing:

Putting yourself in editing 1 1500

 Notes on reshooting “The peacemaker”: I recreated the same composition as in my draft shoot but experimented with the lighting. Before shooting I set up the shot in various locations with daylight from different positions. Having found the best location for light and minimal reflection I then shot the first 4 images without flash, the next 5 with a speed lite and then decided to shoot with only natural light.

 

Leave a Reply

